Boston University, The Alumni Center at The Castle
The Castle was built in 1915 as a family home and donated to Boston University in 1939. The university used it’s residence for BU’s presidents until 1967. Since then it has been used mainly for official functions, weddings, and a myriad of University events. The ground floor or “garden level” at the rear of the property is home of the BU Pub, a gathering place for the BU community. The Castle is part of Boston’s Bay State Road Historic District.
Finegold Alexander Architects is transforming this distinguished and historic mansion into a vibrant new Alumni Center serving BU’s 300,000-plus graduates. The project includes an expansion at the lower level, a new commercial kitchen, expansion of the BU Pub, and resolution of accessibility issues. When complete, the project will put alumni literally and figuratively at the heart of the Charles River campus. In this spirit, the Castle will continue to be an iconic, high profile destination for alumni, faculty and students.