Warning: implode(): Invalid arguments passed in /data/12/3/97/55/3260870/user/3640317/htdocs/wp-content/themes/hatch-pro/projects.php on line 17
50 St. Peter Street Historic Salem Jail
The original jail building, constructed in 1813, with an addition by Gridley Bryant in 1884, contains 17 two-bedroom, two-bath condos and a restaurant; the jail keeper’s house, attributed to Samuel McIntire, was converted to three private entry homes; the carriage house hosts a single unit and exhibit space; a new building houses eight two-bedroom, two-bath duplex homes. The complex fronts onto a landscaped courtyard. Many jailhouse details were preserved and integrated within the public spaces. Finegold Alexander worked cooperatively with the local Historic Commission and Planning Board to create this unique renewal.
15,000 sq. ft.
2011 AIA Housing Award - Multi-Family Housing
2011 Massachusetts Historical Commission Preservation Award
2011 Historic Salem Inc Preservation Award
2010 J. Timothy Anderson Award - Excellence in Historic Rehabilitation